The Hockey World Cup 2023 kicks off on January 13, with the final scheduled for January 29. This time, it is being hosted by India at two locations – Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar and the Birsa Munda International Hockey Stadium in Rourkela. So, here is your lowdown on India’s match schedule, daily fixtures and players to watch out for. 

What’s the Hockey World Cup 2023 schedule?

Like most world cups, the 2023 Hockey World Cup will also begin with the group stages. India is placed in Group D, along with England, Wales and Spain. Here are the daily fixtures for the world cup:

Group Stages

January 13:

Match 1 – Argentina vs South Africa
Match 2- Australia vs France
Match 3 – England vs Wales
Match 4 – India vs Spain

January 14:

Match 5 – New Zealand vs Chile
Match 6 – Netherlands vs Malaysia
Match 7 – Belgium vs Korea
Match 8 – Germany vs Japan

January 15:

Match 9 – Spain vs Wales
Match 10 – England vs India

January 16:

Match 11 – Malaysia vs Chile
Match 12 – New Zealand vs Netherlands
Match 13 – France vs South Africa
Match 14 – Argentina vs Australia

January 17:

Match 15 – Korea vs Japan
Match 16 – Germany vs Belgium

January 19:

Match 17 – Malaysia vs New Zealand
Match 18 – Netherlands vs Chile
Match 19 – Spain vs England
Match 20 – India vs Wales

January 20:

Match 21 – Australia vs South Africa
Match 22 – France vs Argentina
Match 23 – Belgium vs Japan
Match 24 – Korea vs Germany


January 22:

Match 25 – 2nd Pool C vs 3rd Pool D

Match 26 – 2nd Pool D vs 3rd Pool C

January 23:

Match 27 – 2nd Pool A vs 3rd Pool B

Match 28 – 2nd Pool B vs 3rd Pool A


January 24:

Match 29 – 1st Pool A vs Winner 25

Match 30 – 1st Pool B vs Winner 26

January 25:

Match 31 – 1st Pool C vs Winner 27

Match 32 – 1st Pool D vs Winner 28


January 27:

Match 37 – Winner 29 vs Winner 32

Match 38 – Winner 30 vs Winner 31

3rd Place Match

January 29: Match 43 – Loser 37 vs Loser 38


January 29: Match 44 – Winner 37 vs Winner 38

Indian team at the Hockey World Cup 2023


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Hockey India (@hockeyindia)

Harmanpreet Singh is the captain and Amit Rohidas the vice-captain of the Indian Hockey World Cup team. Other team players include Abhishek, Surender Kumar, Manpreet Singh, Hardik Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, Mandeep Singh, Lalit Upadhyay, Krishan Pathak, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, PR Sreejesh, Nilakanta Sharma, Shamsher Singh, Varun Kumar, Akashdeep Singh, Amit Rohidas, Vivek Sagar Prasad and Sukhjeet Singh.

Of the Indian players, Amit Rohidas is one to watch out for. Besides being the vice-captain of the team, his role as a defender will be integral in ensuring India’s success on the field. He also was part of the 2020 Summer Olympics squad that won the bronze medal for India. Captain Harmanpreet Singh is another player to watch out for since he will be crucial in setting the team’s morale and keeping the players motivated.

India’s group stage games

India vs Spain – Rourkela – January 13
England vs India – Rourkela – January 15
India vs Wales – Bhubaneswar – January 19

Where to watch Hockey World Cup 2023?

The Hockey World Cup 2023 will be broadcast live in India on Star Sports First, Star Sports Select 2, and Star Sports Select 2 HD.

(Hero and feature image credit: Courtesy Instagram/ Hockey India)

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Question: When will the Hockey World Cup 2023 start?

Answer: The Hockey World Cup 2023 will commence on January 13 and end on January 29.

Question: Where will the Hockey World Cup be hosted?

Answer: The Hockey World Cup 2023 will be hosted by India in two locations - Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar and the Birsa Munda International Hockey Stadium in Rourkela. 

Question: Will Pakistan participate in the Hockey World Cup 2023?

Answer: No, Pakistan will not be participating in the Hockey World Cup 2023.

Question: How many times has India won gold in hockey?

Answer: India has won eight gold medals in the Olympics.